Blackrock College Women’s Rugby Review 2018/19 Season

With Philip Doyle back at the helm of the Women’s Squad, pre-season was a busy one with many new and young faces joining the club.


The season opener was a double header with both the men’s team and the women facing Galwegians in Stradbrook. A fine victory laid marker for the season that followed for the team.


While the flow of the first half of the season was fractured, strong performances against top of the table teams of UL Bohs, Belvedere and Railway saw Rock coming out on the wrong side of the results, however, back to back victories against Cooke in the run up to Christmas established a top four position in the AIL.


Eight wins on the trot in both league and cup games into 2019 placed Rock solidly in the mix for a semi-final spot and a crunch win versus Old Belvedere in the Cup sealed a semi-final spot there also.

The Cup semifinal took place in Stradbrook in February against a strong Suttonians outfit. After a shaky start, Rock maneuvered through the gears and earned their spot in the All Ireland Cup final.


A large Rock Blackrock College Women’s Rugby contingent travelled to support the team play against UL Bohs in Ashbourne. The sides were evenly matched following the previous 5-5 draw in the league during a snowstorm. A try for Bohs on the half time whistle gave them the edge in the second half to grind out the win. UL Bohs were also the All Ireland League semifinal opponents and again resulted with Rock on the wrong side of the scoresheet.

Overall, 2018/19 was a hugely successful season for the women’s team, although we bid farewell to Doyle as he takes over the Scottish women. Numbers continue to grow and a J1s Women’s side as well as a youth’s side is to come into force for the 2019/20 Season. Thanks to all who have helped with developing this side and especially to our sponsors, Pinergy, who continue to support the team into the 2019/20 Season.


Awards for the season:

Player of the year: Hannah O’Connor


Young Player of the year: Judy Bobbett


Rising Star: Roisin Crowe


Special Mention: Meadbh Scally


Outstanding Contribution: Christine Haney


Player’s Player of the Year: Hannah O’Connor


Interprovincial honours:
Michelle Claffey, Jeamie Deacon, Niamh Griffin, Mairead
Holohan, Ray Lawless, Hannah O’Connor, Ann-Marie Rooney.

International Honours 15s:
Michelle Claffey, Jeamie Deacon


International Honours 7s:
Katie Fitzhenry, Kathy Baker